No changes on East Hampshire boundary

Wednesday 11th April 2018 10:00 am
Those areas which are having their ward boundary changed will have regulations passed by Parliament and come into effect in time for the 2019 local elections ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

The Local Government Boundary Commission (LGBC) has proposed not to make any alterations to the Grayshott, Headley, Lindford or Bramshott and Liphook wards as part of its final recommendations during its electoral review.

The LGBC received one submission from Grayshott Parish Council, which supported the draft recommendations for the village ward, but it did not receive any regarding Lindford, with the exception of a comment regarding Grayshott Laurels, a road which currently lies partly within the parish of Lindford and also Headley.

In its draft recommendations, the commission stated they were not recommending including the Laurels in the Lindford ward, because if the commission divides a parish between district wards, it is required, by statute, to create parish wards for each area of any parish divided.

The commission did not consider any parish with fewer than around 120 electors would constitute a viable ward or that there was sufficient reason to justify having a ward with just 33 electors.

East Hampshire, which currently has 44 councillors, will now be represented by 43 councillors, one fewer than currently, representing 31 wards, seven fewer than there are now.

The boundaries of 28 wards will change, while three will stay the same leaving two, represented by three councillors, eight wards wtih two councillors and 21 with just one.

An order will now go before Parliament and the new arrangements will come into effect in time for the 2019 elections.

•Find the full report at


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0