THE Aldershot Table Tennis League’s four Knockout Cup finals and Handicap Cup final produced just one tight match between them.

The Div I Cup final between Bentley A and Central B provided that one evenly-fought match.

Bentley paraded Micky Lang, Richard Seymour and Graham Diplock, while Central used the powerful trio of Martin Townshend, Phil Snelson and Andy Appleby.

Townshend eased Central into the lead by overcoming Lang, but Bentley roared back as Seymour beat Snelson. Appleby restored Central’s advantage with victory over Diplock, only for Bentley to square the match, Seymour beating Townshend, and then went ahead with Lang’s victory over Appleby.

Snelson levelled things up by beating Diplock, but Bentley took a 4-3 lead as Seymour completed his full house with victory against Appleby.

Central thus had to win the last two sets to take the match and that is what they did, with Townshend beating Diplock and Snelson clinching the cup with victory over Lang. Final score: 5-4.

In the Div II Cup final, BraybrookeA proved far too strong for Ash C. Robert Hawes and Yizhong Wei were both unbeaten in a 5-2 victory.

Tennis G were attempting to complete a league and cup double in the Div III Cup final. Using their normal trio of Peter Bone, Martin Evans and Mehrdad Abutalebi, they comfortably overcame Ash E, 5-3. Bone won all three and his team-mates took one apiece, while Les Knight won twice for Ash.

Crawley Ridge C also did the double with a 7-2 win over Ash G in the Div IV Cup final. Yuriy Schulzhenko was unbeaten for Crawley Ridge, while team-mates Mark Stephenson and Richard Hornby both won twice.

Tennis H were convincing 7-2 winners over Crawley Ridge A in the Handicap Cup final. Ken Thompson won two singles for Crawley Ridge, but the Tennis squad of Michael Wolfe, John Page and Roger Whichelow belied their lower league status. Wolfe was the unbeaten star of the match.

It had been a disappointing end to the season for Crawley Ridge A. They failed by just one point to escape relegation.

Ash C clinched the runners-up spot in Division Two, despite often struggling to field a full team. So congratulations to Frank Winnard, Nigel Tustin and Chris Carter, plus the Ash team’s assorted reserve players.

The trophies will be presented at the league AGM on Monday, May 21.


Div I

Tennis C 2 Tennis A 8, Ash B 8 Tennis C 2, Central A 8 Central B 2

Div II

Old Woking 6 Tennis D 4, Cody B 9 Bentley B 1, Bentley B 4 Old Woking 6


Frimley D 4 Crawley Ridge A 6, Ash D 6 Ash E 4, Cody D 5 Cody C 5, Ash E 5 Crawley Ridge A 5

Div IV

Cody E 4 Braybrooke B 6, Ash G 7 Ash F 3, Cody F 1 Frimley E 9

Div I Cup Final

Bentley A 4 Central B 5

Div II Cup Final

Ash C 2 Braybrooke A 5

Div III Cup Final

Ash E 3 Tennis G 5

Div IV Cup Final

Crawley Ridge C 7 Ash G 2

Handicap Cup Final

Tennis H 7 Crawley Ridge A 2